My Husband

Brian knows I am terrified of flying.  Though we’ve only taken two trips together that have included flights, he knows by now that I especially have trouble with take off and landing.  He’ll take my hand during those times, and I’ll squeeze extra hard with any bumps or sounds that frighten me.  I try to practice my deep breathing as he makes jokes or smiles at me to calm my nerves.

On our trip to Ireland, we were fortunate to be able to sit right next to each other on 3 of our 4 flights.  On our last flight home, the short 45 minute flight from Chicago to Indy, we were sitting just a couple rows away from each other.  Even though it’s a short flight, flying in and out of Chicago is ALWAYS bumpy (thanks, “Windy City”).  So I was particularly nervous to be by myself.  (With Kate on my lap, of course!)

During take off, I always say the Hail Mary and/or Our Father for the first couple of minutes.  As I’m doing this (and nursing Kate to protect those ears!), I look up at Brian to see what he’s doing.  He is looking back at me, smiling…giving me a thumbs up.  Mouthing words of encouragement.  It instantly put me at ease.

Once we got up in the air, I was fine, but as we started our descent, I began to get extremely nervous again.  Again I looked up at Brian and saw that he was glancing back at me.  He couldn’t hold my hand, but two rows apart in that plane, he was comforting me just the same.

What in the WORLD did I ever do without this man?

4 thoughts on “My Husband

Leave a comment